Webinar: The IMO draft Arctic Heavy Fuel Oil (HFO) regulation: A ban in name only?

Let's get Heavy Fuel Oil out of the Arctic

Webinar: The IMO draft Arctic Heavy Fuel Oil (HFO) regulation: A ban in name only?

TUESDAY 29 SEPTEMBER 2020 – 15:30 UTC

(07:30 Anchorage – 11:30 Washington DC – 16:30 London – 17:30 Brussels – 18:30 Moscow)

Duration: 1 hour 15

Under the draft International Maritime Organization (IMO) Arctic HFO regulation, exemptions and waivers will allow 74% of HFO-fueled ships to continue using HFO in the Arctic until mid-2029. As a result, only 30% of HFO carriage and 16% of HFO use will be banned under the current proposal.

In addition, an unlevel playing field will be created as Arctic flagged ships seek waivers from the ban, and Arctic coastal states are required to enforce more stringent requirements on foreign-flagged ships than on their own vessels.

The Clean Arctic Alliance has been campaigning for the IMO to adopt an effective ban on the use and carriage of heavy fuel oil from Arctic shipping. If adopted as currently drafted, we feel that all we will have is a ban in name only.

Join our event and find out what the draft Arctic HFO regulation will mean in practice if adopted as currently drafted, and what it will mean for Arctic environmental protection.

After speakers’ presentations, there will be ample time for questions and discussion of this important issue with the panel:

  • Bryan Comer, PhD: Senior Researcher, International Council on Clean Transportation (ICCT)
  • Clean Arctic Alliance: a legal view on the IMO draft regulation
  • Arctic Community Perspectives (tbc)
  • A level playing field across industry? (tbc)

Please save the date and register below to receive updated information on this event.

Register here: https://us02web.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_mkcCbPseS3iX6f0jC0IR-g

For more info or any questions, contact:  events@hfofreearctic.org